Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 8

CWA Time people!!! One of my favorite days of the week around here (I love Sundays too) Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

I almost forgot to share this with you! I created a new tab “Resources” be sure to check that out! Has most everything I’ve ever researched, looked at, read and enjoyed in the treasure trove of all things Catholic!

day_planner2Gratitude
::Pictures of favorite vacations spots from S. Tells me she’s really relaxing and enjoying herself.
::Buying Aaron a bible and YouCat (comes tomorrow!)
::The wonderful Fall-like weather we are having here. Complete with turning leaves.
::My husband watching EWTN with me and getting me the Mater Eucharistae CD. Something about nuns I tell ya. I love them.
::Acute hours at Little Monk’s doctors office. He’s ok, but needed to be checked out to be sure there were no infections. Weather change. He gets sick…
::Divine Office app. I read the hours like nobody’s business this week. Even including the Office of Readings most days.
::A family at mass who sat with my boys (and they didn’t just put them on the end. They physically integrated them with their family) as I cantored so they wouldn’t be alone behind me, or in a pew.

Praying
I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

I am praying the St. Monica Novena over at praymorenovenas.com – for my husband, for Aaron and peace in my family always. You should click on over and pray there too.

I am praying that this school year will bring much learning, faith, joy and love to every child (no matter how old).

I am praying for me. That’s rare. I usually pray for others, but work has been especially tense and I don’t want that tension seeping into my home. Because I love them…those little family critters.

I am praying the rosary with special intentions for all of you in a very special, Holy Spirit driven way. Why? Because that’s what we do. Pray for eachother.

Thinking and Reflecting
I am thinking that Summer flew by. I am also thinking that my youngest will be going to Kindergarten and I am going to be a sobbing, sappy mess. I get that way when school starts. I know it’s another year, another milestone. I am happy, but feel that I have to loosen my arms around them so they can grow up and be good young men. I know, they’re young. I know. But they are my little miracles and I don’t take any moment with them lightly. I wasn’t even supposed to have them. My sweet little blessings.

Reading

  1. The Life of Saint Dominic
  2. Laity in the Church: Our Call to Action 
  3. Prayer
  4. Our Chapter, Our Community
  5. Study
  6. Apostolate
  • This came through my Bloglovin’ feed last night and I immediately shared and downloaded. It’s titled “Fast-knit to Christ” While meant for those discerning a call to become a Dominican Contemplative nun, why cant we laity read and glean?! Thank you Sisters!!
  • And, I am always in my Christian Prayer book for the Liturgy of the Hours.
  • As you can see, not much reading this week. There’s a reason for that. My new friend Tiffany just received her copy of The New Wine of Dominican Spirituality so I am waiting for her to catch up to Chapter 2, then it’s ON!

Hearing
I am listening to Mater Eucharistae. BEAUTIFUL is all I can say.

Cooking
Eeek. Is it bad? We had Chinese take out. Sometimes that happens on a Sunday.

Homing
This is why we had Chinese take out last night. I spent ALL weekend cleaning the house. Friday night, I cleaned the downstairs after work. Saturday, I cleaned half the upstairs and Sunday, (I know, horrible!) I cleaned the other half – that’s 2500 sq ft. of clean with three bathrooms (in a house of boys!). I also did the laundry for me and the boys along with some of the hubs whites. Since going back to work full time, he generally takes care of his laundry. But if I see a clean load sitting there, I fold it for him and put it away. I know how much he hates to fold clothes. Maybe if he learned this technique?

Making
I’m making cookies for the boys. Why? Because they like it and I thought I would get some too. Nope. Not enough for me. But it make the house smell great. I am still making rosaries. Pretty, purple mixed ones and gold with green ones.

Learning
I am learning that unplugging is SO very necessary for me. I didn’t used to need that time. But as I get older, you know. I need it. The recharge is good for my soul. That means no cell phone, no Facebook or checking work email. It can all wait. I mean I knew that. But now my soul really, really knows that.

Around the Web
I spent some time on these websites this week, enjoy!

Saint Name Generator. I thought who would I get. Can you guess?? St. Francis de Sales. SO…we will have to read and learn more about him. Who’d you get?

Dominican Nuns of Summit, NJ  because I got a new follower who is joining this order in January. SO very cool. Read her vocation story here.

The Virtual Abbey (blogspot site) The Virtual Abbey (WordPress site) I think they’re Benedictine nuns.  They don’t have an About Us tab which, I think makes them cooler. You have to read to learn bits about them. They tweet, pray, write and review books. They’re cool.  Follow them. Pray with them.

Captured

Ok, so this is what we do when Daddy’s travels. We take silly pics of ourselves, photo booth style and send them to him. This time, Mommy forgot to send. So you get to see them. As you can figure out, Lexicon was feeling cuddly, and Monk was…well Monk. Silly.

Photobooth

16 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 8

  1. Wonderful photos!! They made me laugh..Thank you for sharing a bit of your life and thoughts. Enjoyed reading…thank you for your prayers and reminding us that is what we do “pray for eachother.” God Bless.

    Like

  2. I’ll be reading like the wind tonight! And I SO relate to your prayer section. I too am praying the St. Monica novena, and I word my prayer almost *exactly* the way you do here: that my husband may receive the gift of faith and come back to the Church, and that my children and Godchildren always stay close to Christ and His Church. Praying for you! Hugs!

    Like

    1. Oh my sister in St. Dominic how I enjoy thoroughly our similar paths and struggles in life. I should add my Goddaughter to that novena! Thank you for that (unknowingly) gentle reminder.

      Like

  3. I love the Summit nuns. I discerned with them but it didn’t work out, but I still love their soaps, etc! I haven’t gotten Mater Eucharistae yet, but I do love the Benedictines of Mary and their chant.

    Like

  4. Why haven’t we crossed paths sooner!!! I feel like we probably kept missing each other. I lived in Peekskill for a while. Did I mention that?

    Of course I’ll pray for you…

    +xo

    Like

  5. Those pictures are so much fun to look at at! Thank you so much for sharing them with us. We’ve been getting pizza on the way home from Mass. It’s just easy when everyone is hungry and ready to relax.

    Like

    1. Thanks! We love playing with my phone camera.

      We used to do the same – grab delicious pizza from a place that had actual New Yorkers making the pizza. Then our pizza place got new management. They had a Gordon Ramsey style makeover and the food didn’t so we wander the streets after mass searching for a new pizza-home. That and order Chinese takeout. 🙂

      Like

  6. The resource tab is awesome! We are currently reading 33 days to morning glory, and really enjoying it! I need to get better at the unplugging too, it is so hard sometimes, but i’m always glad when I do:)

    Like

    1. Thanks! I am still working on it. I loved Morning Glory. I think a big part of that was the short snippets of reading with meditation and take-aways! Enjoy and let me know what you think of it as you go!

      Like

  7. Great CWA. Thank you for so many wonderful links. I’m going to be checking them out!!! I had to giggle at the comment of 2500 sq ft with three bathrooms and a house full of boys! I can relate!!! And my youngest is potty-training/trained, so I’m sure you understand…messy days! 🙂

    Like

    1. No problem! I love finding things online – cheaper then shopping, no? I can’t even begin to describe the wonders in those bathrooms. Perhaps I will devote an entire post to the topic. I’m not that cruel. 😉 Happy first day of school!

      Like

  8. I’m doing the St. Monica novena from Pray More Novenas too! That is the best thing, I swear I would never finish a novena if it weren’t for them. And I LOVE that you got St. Francis de Sales for the Saint Name Genreator. He is amazing. 1. He is the patron saint of journalists and writers (which clearly is for you with the blogging and all) AND 2. He has said amazing this like “Never be in a hurry; do everything quietly and in a calm spirit. Do not lose your inner peace for anything whatsoever, even if your whole world seems upset.” You got a good one!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

