How I Pray for You

How I pray for youIs there a right way to pray? Is there a wrong way? I say just pray, He knows where your heart is more than you ever could. I haven’t read of this being a method, but if you have, please share the resources so I can look it up and learn more about it.

I thought I would share with you how I pray for you, or anyone really. We all know about the beautiful book S got for me to use specifically to gather up your prayers. When I started, I would just hold my rosary and pray the mysteries. I found myself lingering over names and situations that seemed to speak to me through the mystery. I found this happening every time I prayed my rosary before bed – and I like it. You’ll find that I like layers. Much like B.A.K.E.R. in Night Prayer.

For example, today, I prayed the Joyful Mysteries like we are supposed to. I had to pray in the car on my way to work, so I didn’t have the luxury of poring over my prayer scribbles. I find that I do remember you. I have prayed for you nightly and have learned the pages, people, situations and names. Sometimes, other people “come through” that aren’t in my book, but I feel called to pray for them as well. For example, when I prayed the Second Mystery : The Visitation, I read (or listen via rosaryarmy.com) the following scripture after the mystery is announced:

In those days Mary arose and went with haste into the hill country, to a city of Judah and she entered the house of Zechariah and greeted Elizabeth. And when Elizabeth heard the greeting of Mary, the babe leaped in her womb; and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit and she exclaimed with a loud cry, ‘Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb!’ (Luke 1:39-42)

For me, I immediately thought of my dear friend S and Michelle (there are two). Why? Because I want them to always be filled with the Holy Spirit. I want to help them to feel that ‘leap in their wombs’ metaphorically speaking. To be on fire for their faith. To pray more, pick up their rosary more, discern their vocation more – and I pray that I always do that for them regardless of how much or how little I interact with them. As the beads roll around in my fingers – I kind of press and roll them as if I am squeezing all of the blessed juice out of them for my intentions – I picture these special people. Sometimes, I lose myself a little, but I gently bring myself back to that singular focus.

Another example from today is from the Third Joyful Mystery: The Birth of Our Lord. Let’s go to the scripture verses for that, because it is there that we find out direction to pray for those who are “calling for it” in that moment.

In those days a decree went out from Emperor Augustus that all the world should be registered. This was the first registration and was taken while Quirinius was governor of Syria. All went to their own towns to be registered. Joseph also went from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to the city of David called Bethlehem, because he was descended from the house and family of David. He went to be registered with Mary, to whom he was engaged and who was expecting a child. While they were there, the time came for her to deliver her child. And she gave birth to her firstborn son and wrapped him in bands of cloth, and laid him in a manger, because there was no place for them in the inn. (Luke 2:1-7)

I immediately prayed today – for my son’s piano teachers’ wife. I haven’t been asked to pray for her, and I haven’t thought of it previously. I know that she is due with her first born son on the same day as Little Monk’s birthday. So I prayed that the birthing process would be smooth for her. That she would look lovingly upon the face of her newborn just as Mary had for Jesus. That she would always make room for that love in the inn of her home, with her husband. See? That came out of nowhere this morning, as I squeeze the beads. I also prayed for the awesome Lector at my church, G. She just had a sweet little guy. She let’s me hold him whenever I see her. She is so insightful, she senses that I long to hold a baby in my arms. She’s wonderful. I also pray for my friend J’s daughter and grandson. You see, the daughter is a young mother. She hasn’t quite grasped the awesomeness of motherhood, and the immense responsibility. So I pray during this decade that she comes to understand her new role as a mother, and follows Mary as an example, making a hold for him wherever she could – with the most amazing of surroundings, love.

In my final example, I will tell you how I pray for my Lexicon. I pray the Fourth Joyful Mystery: The Presentation in the Temple. Scripture verses, you say? I say here you go:

After eight days had passed, it was time to circumcise the child; and he was called Jesus, the name given by the angel before he was conceived in the womb. When the time came for their purification according to the law of Moses, they brought him up to Jerusalem to present him to the Lord (as it is written in the law of the Lord, “Every firstborn male shall be designated as holy to the Lord”), and they offered a sacrifice according to what is stated in the law of the Lord, “a pair of turtledoves or two young pigeons.” (Luke 2:21-24)

Now, I don’t think of my son as Jesus. BUT, he is my firstborn son. He has mentioned to me of his wanted to be a priest. More than once. At age 8. He did donate all of his First Holy Communion money of his own accord. I take direction from the Holy Spirit and consecrate him to our Lord. I pray that he will become a priest. Is that wrong? I really don’t feel that it is. What better prayer for Lexicon than to ask that he carry out God’s will and help His sheep stay close to His word? Lexicon has great faith. Greater than mine ever could be, he is so pure and I can see how God loves him.  I present my little Lexicon to our Lord to show him His will.

So there you have it, this is one way that I pray for you. I have another, but that will just have to wait till next time. What do you think? Is this bizarre? Crazy? Inspired? Riddled with the Holy Spirit? Too personal? Is this not how a rosary should be prayed? Or how one should pray for another?  I welcome your thoughts and more prayer requests. If you’d like to know who comes up in other mysteries, or decades, let me know. I’d be happy to share.

+++

2 thoughts on “How I Pray for You

  1. I just wanted to let you know that one of the people for whom I asked you to pray-Rich-and I had a professional and respectful meeting. Now, Cristina, please pray for the others I mentioned that my heart opens up and I forgive them. I’ve struggled with this, but I do pray daily for these individuals when I say my rosary.
    Also, please share your prayer experiences. I think the way you pray the rosary is full of charity and mysticism.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

