Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 7

St. Jane Frances de Chantal

Happy Feast of St. Jane Frances de Chantal. Saint of forgotten people; in-law problems; loss of parents; parents separated from children and widows.

CWA Time people!!! Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2Gratitude
::My new home. I can’t believe, still, that I live  there.
::That Arjun is ok.
::Reliving marriage vows while cantoring at another wedding. Did I mention I was barefoot the whole time! Well except for the responsorial psalm, of course!
::I know it’s petty – but Häagen-Dazs Stracciatella Gelato. I mean, heaven in a pint!
::Recognizing the Holy Spirit in the morning as I pray while getting ready.
::My health. Really. I haven’t been sick in a while. Did I just ask for it?
::Fellow parishioners greeting Aaron after mass while I was held up talking to my favorite Lector, G. Her voice is like honey. You can’t help but feel the scripture as she reads it to you.
::People I work with. They are generally a happy bunch and it’s infectious.
::My Lay Dominican mentor. She’s uber cool. Check her out! I’m sure I’ll get an official one. But we have so much in common that I had to take her with me on this ride.
::Chats with S. She is so great for my soul.
::My new Goddaughter, L. She is so deep and beautiful. I can’t wait for you all to meet her. This is a little shout out to her #tattooproblems.

Praying
I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

I am praying to the Holy Spirit that I am being called to join the Lay Dominicans. I was asked to pray with this special intention by the chapter president. And you all know I do what I’m told!I am praying for my grandmother, Nanny or Genoveve actually in purgatory along with Curtis, a friend of mine and the hubs. Now that’s a story. Soon, dear friends. Soon.

I am praying the rosary with very special intentions for all of you in a very special Holy Spirit driven way. Why? Because that’s what we do. Pray for eachother. I will explain more soon. Next post actually.

Thinking and Reflecting
I am thinking and reflecting on a lot lately. Part of my nature. It’s what I’ve always done for as long as I can remember. What stands out in this moment is balance. Balance in as a mother, a wife, a daughter of Christ, a friend, a working mother, a disciple, a student, a writer, a rosary maker, a cantor. I wear a lot of hats people and I have to be ok with not being perfect at all of them. I wonder where I can fit in some ease with that in all of those hats. Again, I think this is part of the bigger Practicing Catholic as opposed to Perfect Catholic – of which we all are not.


Reading

  1. The Life of Saint Dominic
  2. Laity in the Church: Our Call to Action 
  3. Prayer
  4. Our Chapter, Our Community
  5. Study
  6. Apostolate

Hearing
So here’s a change…I am listening to Latch by Disclosure. I know, not very Catholic. But when I’m working as much as I have been this is awesome get it done music for me. Don’t ask. It just works. I’m really sharing here. I’m a little more eclectic than ya think.

Cooking
Last night I made fish with my herbed bread crumb topping with some brown rice and stir fry vegetables. It’s one of those I’m-not-thinking-I-just-put-it-in-the-oven. The special secret to this dish is Panko bread crumbs. It’s what’s used in Tempura. Super crunchy and takes on whatever flavoring you add to it. Voila!

Homing
My husband got us some chairs to sit outside and talk with some wine. He even bought my favorite, Bogle (merlot). So that’s how we spent the evening. It  was great. Calming and peaceful. With the exception of the big pine tree right in front of us that looked like it was leaning in to try and steal a sip! And yes, I wore my Off! Clip On. I don’t like bugs. The whirring sound it makes made for a very romantic setting. Not.

Making
More rosaries. Which is great because I feel like I’ve been slacking in this area. I used to make 8 a day and now if I make 3-4, I’m a rockstar. All part of learning the balance.

Learning
As I read that New Wine book, I am coming to learn that this Third Order is where it’s at (for me). In case you haven’t noticed, I am a bit of a nut. By that I mean that I go pretty hard at anything that interests me. This means that maybe I was a juggler in my past life? I don’t believe that. Relax. You know what I mean.

I am interested and want use whatever talents God has given me to touch others. Not in a “look at me” kind of way, but more in a “look at Him, see what He did for me? Imagine what’s waiting for you” kind of way. While I don’t have the book here in front of me, what I got from it is, if you’re preaching (there’s that word again) and it’s your time to hit the Divine Office, God understands and you are not under pain of sin for not completing that duty or promise, as it were. For me, that is HUGE. I breathed a sigh of relief. It’s not the norm that I wouldn’t pray the hours. No. But if it doesn’t happen one day because I am speaking to someone about God and Love or how the process to become Catholic works, that’s ok. It’s more important in that moment to preach the message than to pray the office. Isn’t that a kind of prayer anyway?

I don’t think I am doing this topic much justice and will have to share with you what I’ve highlighted from the book – and then explain. As I tell my boys – it’s Serious Business. In any case, I don’t have to kill myself with a rigid schedule and feel badly when I don’t meet all of the demands and expectations that I put on myself. However, there is a balance. I can’t just blow all of it off. Remember the readings from yesterday? Which I tweeted because (as Em would say) it was as if God high-fived me in the face: Much will be required of the person entrusted with much, and still more will be demanded of the person entrusted with more. Therefore, I gotta strike that balance. More to come on this because I feel it’s an important lesson for me to learn. I can get a little neurotic about self-discipline – but I hate exercise and love ice cream. Go figure.

Around the Web
I spent some time on these websites this week, enjoy!

Check this guy out. I really like his stuff.  Cantebury Tales

Talking about tattoos and stuff – maybe you’re not into that. But I am. Clearly. I was here looking at stuff. The site is PhatMass: 2000 Years of Counter Culture. Again, I don’t know what I am thinking. I am not this cool.

And you have to read this. It’s beautiful. You also have to share with every young woman you know. Oh yes, and this you have to read that too. All from Ignitum Today.

Captured
I know you’ve seen pics like this from me before, but this one is with Aaron. On our way to mass yesterday morning. I can’t tell you the joy this brings me. Sheer joy.

boysmass

9 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 7

  1. Great Almanac. I’m in awe of you if you want to know the truth.
    Listen – I could use your prayers. Read my CWA post from today. A lump.
    Diagnostic Mammo Wednesday 9:30. It is happening fast. My head is spinning.

    I know you will pray. That is why I ask. Blessings Em

    Like

    1. In awe of me? I can’t even imagine why. I’m a bit of a mess.

      I will pray for you – and add to what I’ve already got down for you. Tomorrow’s rosary will be for you, my friend. I will share a little secret…the Sorrowful Mysteries are my favorite mysteries to pray. I feel closest to Jesus and Mary when I pray it. You’ll see what I mean when you read my post tomorrow, but your decade will be the Second Sorrowful Mystery: The Scourging at the Pillar. To remove whatever is there. My grandmother passed of breast cancer. I don’t talk about her much, but she is a great inspiration to me. Just earlier this year I had to get a mammogram done – at 35. Thank God, it was good. I’m with you here dear sister, even if you can’t see me. I’m here.
      Love and Prayers,
      Cristina

      Like

  2. I do too much at times I think…balance!!!

    Oooh share the link! I love Gregorian Chant. And thank you for your prayers. I like to know someone on other end is catching me too 🙂

    Like

  3. Your spirit is beautiful and loving and wonderfully humorous! Thank you for your prayers that go out for others. You are blessed and I agree with Em: in awe too! Can’t wait for the Rosary link. I will say prayers for Em and for the Lord’s peace to be with her.

    Like

  4. How fun that you all can walk to Mass. I would miss my country living too much for that, but I would love, love to have a church right across the street.

    Like

    1. This is a great mix of both. I can walk down the road and there’s crops as far as the eye can see. I look in the other direction and see mountains! And then…there’s the church!!!

      Like

  5. Balance in life is a challenge for me. There are good days, there are bad days, and I remind myself that faith and attitude can make a difference.

    You have a full reading list there! What a blessing 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

