Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 6

Happy Feast Day of the Dedication of Saint Mary Major Church!

Pope Francis kneeling at St. Mary Major

CWA Time people!!! Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2

Gratitude
::Answered prayers
::Dinner with Father Heaven
::Morning dew on grass blades at my feet as I walk to morning mass
::My Magnificat
::A prayerful routine
::Access to rosary podcasts, Dominican spirituality podcasts, e-books
::My husband’s incredible, gentle and inexhaustible support

Praying

I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

Currently pressing most on my heart are prayers for my stepson, Aaron. He is also not Catholic but we take him to mass. Yesterday, we went to visit Fr. Heaven at his new parish and in the middle of mass (just before the sign of peace I think) Aaron started to sob. Seeing that, I offered up my communion for him.

As soon as we were alone I asked him if he was ok. He said he was fine, and I didn’t want to push. I knew he wasn’t ready to talk to me about it but I told him if he ever had questions or wanted to talk, I was open to talk. I found out later from my husband, that he decided (before going to mass yesterday) that it would be the last mass he would attend. It was during that mass when he started to sob, that he felt Jesus spoke to him. He didn’t tell me what Jesus told him. I can only imagine.
Later on in the evening, he asked me about RCIA and said he’d like to try it and I offered to be his sponsor. I know our Lady is with him as I found him sleeping with the rosary I made for him a couple of weeks ago. Would you please pray that he trusts whatever the Lord is putting on his heart?  Could you pray that He softens his heart to hear the message of forgiveness and love that I know our Lord has for him? Sometimes we have a hard time believing that we are worthy of that kind of real love. He also has orientation for school tomorrow – he’s starting at the local community college here for construction management. When he went in to take a placement test, I took him and a few pictures of the momentous event. And yes, I cried a little. This is a big deal for him and I am very proud of him. I’ve also missed him a lot.
I am praying for all of you. All of the time.

Why? Because that’s what we do. Pray for eachother.

Thinking and Reflecting
I am thinking that something I said to Fr. Heaven when he was over wasn’t exactly true. Let me explain!! I mentioned to him that it’s a little lonely here in my Catholic faith – not to say that you all aren’t the bees knees! I realized the next morning as I was praying that whenever I say Morning Prayer, or whenever I say the rosary I am praying with all the other Catholics in the entire world. Ain’t nothin’ lonely about that.

Reading

    1. The Life of Saint Dominic
    2. Laity in the Church: Our Call to Action 
    3. Prayer
    4. Our Chapter, Our Community
    5. Study
    6. Apostolate

Hearing
I am listening to the Benedictus: Classical Music for Reflection and Meditation. My favorite is, of course, the Miserere Mei. It’s absolutely beautiful.

Cooking
I have absolutely no idea what’s happening for dinner tonight. It’s another hubby-working-from-home-so-I-get-what-I-get-and-I-don’t-get-upset night. But I did make pasta with meatballs and sauce with a salad and garlic bread for dinner Saturday. Last night, I made bistec encebollado with white rice (that’s steak and onions). Delish. At some point this week, I’ll make corned beef with white rice and love fries. Yes. Love fries. My little Monk named them “because they’re so good the secret ingredient has to be love”. Cute.

Homing
We just got an area rug for the family room. I know, I know sounds boring, but I think it looks great! It feels great on my feet too! Did I mention? I have really flat feet and getting used to no carpet is a little painful. What does S say? Offer it up Cristina! Offer it up. And I do…

Fr. Heaven came over this weekend and blessed the house. He is such an amazing priest and a wonderful blessing. You had to see all of us (hubby included) walking around the house sprinkling everything in sight. He even sprinkled extra on Mike’s side if the bed right in front of him. Mike just laughs every time. I love it. My boys kept trying to get in front of the holy water every time too. It was just a very blessed event in the house.

Making
I made rosaries yesterday!! It’s been a while. But it was relaxing and calming to listen to my new CD and make rosaries while looking out at the trees.

Learning
I am learning all about St. Dominic and the life of Dominican Laity. I can’t tell you all how excited I am and I feel right at home here. I am just soaking it all in. You know, growing up, I always knew I could never be ignorant of anything if I had access to books. I never really knew where that would lead, and now that I am here it all makes sense to me. As you can see, I read a lot. I write quite a bit too. I also completed a Bachelors degree and most (minus two classes) of a Master’s degree completely online. Had I known how much discipline that would take before I jumped it, I may not have done it. I loved it all the same. I will forever be a student.

Around the Web
I spent some time on these websites this week, enjoy!

The Lay Fraternities of St. Dominic Province of St. Joseph (Eastern U.S.A.)
The View from the Foothills
Domine da mihi hanc aquam!

Here are two insightful and playful podcasts I listened to just yesterday:

  1. The Radicality of Living the Gospel in the World of St. Dominic  This is from a Theology on Tap series. I thought it was the coolest thing since sliced bread.
  2. Marriage: Exclusivity and Religion with Fr. Bruno, O.P. he was the retreat master this weekend and I was able to hear his celebrate the advancements in the lay order.

Captured
This is where I was this weekend. Isn’t it beautiful?

stfrancis retreat house

12 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 6

  1. What a lovely blog. Please add to your prayer intentions to pray for Nick, Yvette, Brian and Rich. Also, please pray for my children for another successful school year.
    If you don’t mind, can I ask where you purchased your prayer journal? It’s lovely and also where did you get your rosary? I’m looking for a special one for someone dear.
    Thank you for your time and prayers.

    Like

    1. You’re on my “list”. My friend S got the journal for me. See the post: http://fillingmyprayercloset.com/2013/07/25/a-special-gift-for-us/ I just got off the phone with her. She bought the journal from Barnes and Noble, the clearance rack! LOVE IT! Check http://www.mudpuddleinc.com the code on the back is 978-1-60311-381-6 and it’s titled the “Madonna Medium Journal”. Hope that helps!

      As for the rosary, I bought that for myself from my local Catholic goods store. It was $16 I remember because I couldn’t believe how inexpensive a rosary was!

      If you’d like something super special, may I suggest this site on Etsy. I found her shop randomly and I can’t rave enough about her work! I wore her rosary bracelet on my wedding day! But she’ll make whatever you want. She’s a gem! http://www.etsy.com/listing/70403733/rosary-snow-quartz-gemstone-black?ref=cat_gallery_8

      Like

  2. What a lovely blog. Please add to your intentions to pray for Rich, Yvette, Brian and Nick. Also, please pray for my children that they may have another successful school year.
    Also, if I may where did you get your prayer journal and your rosary? I’m looking for some special Catholic items for an important person.

    Like

  3. What a full and engaging almanac, Cristina! Thank you for letting us into your week. I will be going over your links; I am sure that they will be helpful and informative, especially in considering one’s spirituality. I do admire your eagerness to learn! And your rosary project, too!

    Will say a prayer for Aaron, too. God bless your family.

    Like

    1. Thank you Marcia! I am always on the lookout for more information on, well, everything! I also love to share it, so you’ll always see a healthy list of links! Enjoy and thank you for your prayers!

      Like

  4. Wow, what a testimony! (Aaron) You have obviously planted the seeds, now God will do the rest ~ in His time. God bless your wonderful life. Amen.

    Like

  5. Oh Aaron! I will add him to my prayer list. I mean – how exciting.
    He’s not alone. People are converting by the droves. Amazing reading your words always my dear!
    You are not alone. I am here if you need me. I do feel lonely sometimes and know what you mean. I wish we had more active Priests here. I do miss that about the North East.
    Blessings,
    Em

    Like

    1. It is exciting. But I can’t get too excited. I have to be prepared for him to pull back. Not expect it, but prepare my heart for it. Ya know? Thanks for the prayers.

      Like

  6. Sorry I’m so late getting over here. Prayers for your son. How encouraging that his heart is open to God, His Church and you. I love having our home blessed, especially when the priest is extra generous with the holy water!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

