Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 5

Happy Feast Day of St. Martha! Quickly becoming someone that I turn to often because I keep adding to my plate. CWA Time people!!! Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

St. Martha Pray for us!
St. Martha Pray for us!

day_planner2

Gratitude
::My little monk’s fever broke. He’s all better. Weird it was only a few hours, but I’ll take it.
::Deacon TC living right next door. From making peanut butter pies with his wife randomly after mass to talking about Third Orders before I left, it’s awesome that he’s right there.
::My friend S sending me a text SUPER early to warn me that all of the hymns have changed for the mass I was cantoring at. She’s good like that. She even sent a youtube video link of one I didn’t know.
::RCIA Organization meetings. It’s great to see and be with others who are fired up. Especially this woman, DD. She’s a living angel I tell ya.
::Blinds. It’s B-R-I-G-H-T in my new bedroom.
::Divine providence. Being in the right place at the right time when she thought no one was looking. I was looking and I was praying. She didn’t even know it.**

Praying

I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

I am praying for better discernment on some things. That’s all I’ll say about that.

**Won’t you pray for her too? Her name is Patty and her son, Arjun has been diagnosed with a tumor behind his ear. He’ll be in the first grade. While benign, this will take a few procedures and there’s a chance it will come back. Maybe this is the little boy Monsignor asked me to pray for as penance after confession?

I am praying for all of you. All of the time.

Why? Because that’s what we do. Pray for eachother.

Thinking
I am thinking that I hate (now that’s a string word, isn’t it) that I am controlled at times by hormones. I don’t like to be cranky and short tempered. More than that, I hate (there it is again) that I fall prey to the chemical changes that happen each month. Enough already! I’m bored with it!

I am also thinking that there is so much I’d like to do, but I don’t know where to begin, what’s right or where it will lead. This is where God comes in, throws me over His divine shoulders while Mary holds on to my flopping hands. Can you picture it?

Reading

Hearing

My kids are watching their favorite cartoon, Adventure Time. I admit, I love it too. My favorite character? A tie between Lumpy Space Princess (LSP) and Tree Trunks. I can also hear the hum of the refrigerator, and it drives me a little batty. I like total, complete silence. At least I have a refrigerator, right?!

Cooking

My husband just took out 3 pounds of chicken. You read that right. 3 pounds. Help!

Homing

I am looking for ways to spruce up the mantle. Deacon TC came over with the ultimate housewarming gift, a wall hanging of the Last Supper. I’m thinking that I’d like to have a patina, weather worn Virgin Mary by the fire place along with the icon that I was given for Christmas. What do you think? It’s been sold since last I saw her, maybe if I keep looking?

I would also like to add this to the entry way when we walk in (or out). It’s a house blessing, but this one, for me, is particularly sweet.

Making
I am making the last moments of my vacation/staycation/movecation as slow as possible. Part of me is wanting to get back to routine, but a larger part of me will miss the boys.

Learning
I am learning and working on music selections for the wedding I am singing at in a couple of weeks. I don’t think I’ll be doing more weddings. For me, they are very stressful.

Around the Web
Have I been around the web? I have been trying to visit 5 new sites a day from Conversion Diary’s 7 posts in 7 days epic blog challenge. Here are some of my favorites:

Captured

I wanted you to see the icon I was given. Isn’t she pretty? If you know anything about her, please let me know. I have absolutely NO information on her.

icon1.jpg

12 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 5

  1. So glad your little guy’s all better—it’s heart-breaking when they’re sick, isn’t it? That’s awesome your friend took the time to send you a YT video! Incidentally, I used to cantor, too, and really miss being involved in music ministry. Weddings will forever stress me out, though! I specifically did NOT want Schubert’s Ave Maria at my wedding (sadly, it has become a cliché for me) and opted for the Back/Gounod instead, lol. Anyway, I think those Etsy finds are lovely! If you’re crafty, you might try patina-ing your own statue of Mary with a few coats of paint and some faux finishing. I’m sure Pinterest or YouTube would have lots of tutorials. 🙂 I wish you a wonderful week!

    Like

    1. I meant to reply!!! I am sitting here with my Lexicon because he’s got theology and apologetics on the brain, so we went to read the blog. I immediately looked for patinas and how to apply them after reading your response…I love pinterest. Now it’s on to finding a “blank” Mary canvas!!!

      Like

      1. Lol, no worries! Cool story: my mom went to Rite Aid drugstore for something and saw a 2ft. statue of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel. RANDOM!! Did you know my mom is a Lay Carmelite?! And, if anything, Our Lady of Guadalupe is more prevalent where she lives. She didn’t buy it then, but when she finally decided to, it was gone. When she got home, my sister had bought it for her. And it was 50% off! I just love that story…. 🙂 Hope you find your Mary canvas.

        Like

      2. Really?! I was inquiring about the Lay Carmelites and have decided that I am a better fit with the Lay Dominicans. Amazing how the Third Order is all over the place as a calling!! And your sister is a saint! I will keep you posted on my Mary canvas endeavors. If you see anything that could work…SHOUT!

        Like

  2. Hi Cristina,

    I didn’t know you were a cantor! I love you already (as a music director who so very much appreciates cantors who faithfully prepare!)

    This line that you’ve written: “I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.” – this spoke to me so clearly, and so personally. To see Him in everything – this is, I realize, where I need to be. What I need to be focusing on, and praying for. So thanks, girl, for sharing!

    Praying for Patty and her son and you as well 🙂

    ~Peace,
    LuAnne

    Like

    1. Hi LuAnne!

      I have to prepare. I am not as familiar with liturgical music as I am classical music. I studied opera for many years so for that, I can usually wing it. I feel more pressure singing at mass because everyone already knows the music! No covering mistakes there! Ahhh I hear church bells!

      I have to keep my eyes right at Christ’s face. Find His suffering in others. This mindset keeps me very humble. But I’m human so I don’t always get it right. I keep trying though!

      Thank you for praying for Patty and her little boy.

      +++Blessings+++

      Like

  3. That icon is beautiful. How neat to have a deacon right next door to you. You sound busy, busy, busy…Aren’t those fevers mysterious? They so make for some good snuggle time though. Thankfully he’s over it quick.

    Like

  4. I love my new sistah.
    Thank God Monk’s fever broke.
    Praying for Patty.
    And as for Chicken – I’ve got tons of ideas…
    Chicken tacos, chicken spaghetti, chicken sliders (ground).

    I’ll email you friend.
    Hugs & Blessings…
    oooooooooooh and thanks for mentioning my blog. ❤

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

