My Sirach Friend

20130728-184903.jpg
I know I’m a little late today. It’s the Lord’s Day after all so please forgive me. If you could pray for my little Monk, he has a fever and is laying on my lap as I type.

All week during the Conversion Diary 7 blog posts in 7 days epic challenge, I knew I’d write about this topic and which day I would post it. Then it came down to writing it. I didn’t think it would be that hard, but it was. That is, until I decided to change the format. Then it began to flow…

I don’t have many friends and the ones I have don’t usually stick around very long. I don’t know why that is as much as I pray about it. Maybe they are only to be in my life for a short time to teach me something or I they. I am happy for each new beginning and silently lament each end. The endings are never definitive, exclamatory endings. They just wither and I think, for me, that is harder. It’s the why behind it all, you know? Maybe you don’t. Maybe you’re like most who have friends you went to college with, shared pregnancies with or even, maybe shared a sandbox with.

Some of you may be saying, well what about your husband? I can tell you, yes, he’s my best friend. But, we all need girlfriends. Yes, all.

Oh sure, I’ve read up on how as we get older its get harder to make (let alone keep) friends. I’ve also read that the Internet, what with Facebook, texting, and the like, people have a harder time connecting. Honestly, when I meet someone and think “Wow! She’d make a great friend. Maybe I’ll ask her…” Ask her what? Ask her out?! Am I dating now?! Ugh.

But, the Lord has plans for me, for all of us, and we can’t even comprehend what those blueprints could look like.

I read this scripture in my Magnificat one day and immediately thought (took a screenshot and sent it to her too) of a friend who has made a real impact on my life and that of my family.

Sirach 6:5-17
5 A pleasant voice multiplies friends, and a gracious tongue multiplies courtesies.
6 Let those that are at peace with you be many, but let your advisers be one in a thousand.
7 When you gain a friend, gain him through testing, and do not trust him hastily.
8 For there is a friend who is such at his own convenience, but will not stand by you in your day of trouble.
9 And there is a friend who changes into an enemy, and will disclose a quarrel to your disgrace.
10 And there is a friend who is a table companion, but will not stand by you in your day of trouble.
11 In prosperity he will make himself your equal, and be bold with your servants;
12 but if you are brought low he will turn against you, and will hide himself from your presence.
13 Keep yourself far from your enemies, and be on guard toward your friends.
14 A faithful friend is a sturdy shelter: he that has found one has found a treasure.
15 There is nothing so precious as a faithful friend, and no scales can measure his excellence.
16 A faithful friend is an elixir of life; and those who fear the Lord will find him.
17 Whoever fears the Lord directs his friendship aright, for as he is, so is his neighbor also.

I am referring to my friend, S. We can’t remember how we met exactly and we try to remember. When I need her, she’s there. Through 2 concussions, my coming into the Faith at Easter Vigil, a nasty car accident, baptisms, late night texts with our latest Catholic finds, 2 moves, Pre-K graduations, Fourth of July celebrations at the waterfront, tons of prayer, hugs, choir, back pocket talks, cantoring, early morning emails with bloggy challenges how can we keep up?!

The best part of our friendship? Laughter. I can’t tell you what a joy it is to see S blush (because I always say something off color – but funny and she knows it). Her ears turn red, then from the bottom of her face to the top – she gets as red as a beet. As soon as she covers her mouth with her hand, I know she’s done! In total laugh mode. And that’s when I cover my mouth because I can’t hold in the laughter either.

Sounds like we’ve been friends forever, doesn’t it? Nope. Just a couple of years. Tops. I think we can’t remember how we met because deep down, we both know it doesn’t matter. God brought us together to share the things only moms know about and laugh the laugh of sandbox friends.

Here we are. We have no idea why we have these faces on. But it’s hilarious, no?

20130728-184208.jpg

And here we are as we always are no matter what. Close, smiling with Mary beside us.

20130728-184355.jpg

Thank you S for being such a wonderful friend and a precious gift in our lives. You are my Sirach.

8 thoughts on “My Sirach Friend

  1. Wonderful post. How blessed you are to have such a friend! I miss having that someone I can call up whenever, talk about nothing, and laugh with outrageously. But things just change, friendships evolve (and sometimes dissolve). My husband is my best friend–a wonderful, loving partner, but it’s a different kind of friendship. I do find myself missing that kindred girlfriend connection, but am still so thankful for the wonderful women and friends I have in my life today. Have a blessed week……..

    Like

    1. Thanks Rachelle! S is a real gift to me. We may not get to talk all of the time, life gets in the way. But when we connect its great. God Bless you!!

      +++

      Like

  2. This is beautiful! How blessed you are with such a friend and S with you…these soul friends, cosmic sisters, are few and far between but they fill the space with such beauty and laughter and grace. Enjoy!!

    Like

    1. There are a few others before the wedding where we’re cracking up. Those are my favorites. Can you believe S’s talented, teenaged daughter took all of these photos?!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

