So, who does this closet belong to?

Seeing as I am linking up over at Conversion Diary’s 7 Posts in 7 Days: An Epic Blogging Challenge, I thought I would get new readers up to speed on where to look first to find out who I am and what I’m about. For all the peeps that have been around I didn’t forget about’cha, here’s a few more FFs about me.

FFs? Oh. Fun Fact! FF – You can use that. I’ll let you.

 

I am older than Miley Cyrus and younger than Julia Roberts. No, I don’t know why I chose those women. Totally random. I also don’t make money like they do. I am the cents to their dollars complete with peanut butter in my hair. Happened at lunch. No shame. I thought I’d leave it in too. Maybe it’s a good conditioner for my curly locks? Forget it. I have two sons and three stepchildren (two of which live with their mom, and one who just moved back in with us – total YAY! He’s super fun and funny and silly). I am pretty short. I mean I was this close to having to use a car seat when I drive. How short? 4’11” short. I hate to wear heels and have flat feet. I give myself pedicures and keep my nails short because I love to make rosaries. I’m married to my best friend. No really. He is. I should write about that. Thanks for the idea! My favorite movie is The Color Purple and I do the clap scene with my friend E and always cry a little when I do it. Because it’s that sad, but beautiful (but she never knows that I cry a little). I am two classes away from a master’s degree in education, have a bachelor’s in Human Resources – I did all of that online. I had no life I was CRAZY disciplined. I was an opera singer back in the day.

 

Oh yes.

 

I’ve got a lot of tattoos. Fo’real. But if you sit next to me at church or in the office, you’d never know. Time and place y’all. I lived and went to school in Texas (back in my opera days) for 5 years. I love biscuits and sausage gravy and taquitos but not altogether. That’s just gross. What else? I grew up in a not-so-nice-and-yes-I-am-putting-that-mildly part of Brooklyn but have no accent unless I get mad, and then I sound like Jenny from the block. No lie. And yes, I am Puerto Rican. Wepa, for all my fellow Nuyoricans. Don’t know what that is? You’re welcome.

 

On to the show:

#1: Becoming Catholic: Small Beginnings. It’s about my conversion, reversion, story, journey – a “jourstory” if you will. No? I like to combine words. While this is only the tip of what is a huge iceberg of stuff, it’s a start.

Yep. That's me. Shinier than you thought, eh?
Yep. That’s me. Shinier than you thought, eh?

#2: Child Donates First Communion Money to Charity. It’s all about my son who did a wonderful thing with his Communion money. He’s a humble, 8 year old, rock star. Picture it because he is. What you don’t know, is unfortunately, there were a lot of people who had some nasty things to say when it hit the Huffington Post, but there were even more people, locally who were very supportive. Shout out to my local peeps!

#3: Week 1: Lawn Chair Catechism: Diving in, is there water in the pool? If it wasn’t for this online summer bible study at CatholicMom.com, I wouldn’t have been pushed just that much farther to start writing again. There’s another crucial, pivotal piece as to why I started writing. But that’s another post, for another day this week, for sure!

#4: Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} I found this site a while ago. Rather, I liked it a while ago. I wasn’t a consistent reader there, but not because it wasn’t worth reading. I just wasn’t in the right season. I like that. Season. Sounds pretty. Anyway, now I am, and HOLY COW do I love this site. It’s called Suscipio and you may already know it. If not, go say Hi! Tell her I sent’cha. For me, it’s a treasure trove of lavender, wrapped in cozy slippers, complete with a hot cup of chamomile tea, on an overcast afternoon. Just women supporting women. Jenny (who runs this site) has a scheduled posting called Catholic Women’s Almanac. It’s a page of weekly happenings in her life posted on Mondays. You post, link up and share your lives with others. Just a snapshot. But so much more than a snapshot. I’m just sayin’, you should do it. This post is one of my link ups over there.

#5: +++Pray+++ I love to pray. I look forward to praying while I pray. I have a journal on my nightstand where I keep a list of people to pray for. It’s something I can always do for others – even when they say there’s nothing I can do to help. I can offer prayers, small sacrifices, happiness and sadness I experience for anyone and everyone at anytime. I read somewhere that whenever someone has a great day, they should know there are unknown prayers being prayed for them to make it so. It’s those prayers that are lifting you up. Your great day is God being presented with prayer bouquets on your behalf. I really like that imagery. And you thought no one prayed for you? Pshhht! Won’t you let me pray for you? Please leave your prayer request in the CommBox there.

So that’s my list. Not because I couldn’t list more, but because my little monk (my 5 year old) just said that when he burps he still tastes the hot dog from lunch in his throat. And that’s gross. He needs apple slices, stat!

Feel free to let me know if you think I missed a goodie. Considering I only have 26 posts total up, there’s not too many to choose from. That will change. This, is 27.

+++Blessings+++

8 thoughts on “So, who does this closet belong to?

  1. Totally understand about food additives on your body…I had melted butter down my bra. Ruined the bra but had smooth skin for days.

    Thanks for visiting me!

    Like

    1. Smooth skin you say…I have to try that. My skin is dry, dry, dry! I don’t bother with my legs anymore – no point. They suck the moisture and leave that white stuff. Remember the Baseline lotion commercial where the woman would write “dry” on her skin? That’s me after lotion. 🙂

      Like

  2. Cristina, I love your blog and your amazing packed full of life and humor and reflection and prayerful writing! You are so blessed by that little monk son and his beautiful generosity and also a best friend hubby to share the journey. I love the prayer bouquets being presented to God on someone’s behalf. Wonderful image and gesture. I look forward to your seven day stretch! God Bless you and your gift of writing…Also, since you are a prayer warrior I would like to ask for prayers for my 23 year old son who is recently in remission from Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. The Lord has healed him and I thank Him all the time and continue to pray and beg prayers for him. His name is Casey. Most Gratefully…

    Like

    1. I am so glad you were able to stop by AND leave a prayer request (I gobble those up). My new neighbor, Deacon TC was here visiting with me and I read your comment to him. He thought it was great that I was a prayer warrior. Who knew that’s what it was called?!? So thank you! How about this? I offer my next mass (I cantor at 10am Sunday) to Casey and you. Moms’ need prayers of strength too.
      +++ Blessings to you dear sister +++

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

