Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 4

CWA Time people!!! Link up time over at Suscipio! Can I just say that I’ve been thinking of writing this post all weekend!?

Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2Gratitude
::dreaming of angels (should I share my dream with you? No? Too personal?)
::my husband driving me to work – and picking me up early – SURPRISE
::fireplaces
::mass last Tuesday for Our Lady of Mt. Carmel
::consecration
::new spaces
::hugs and kisses the moment I walk in the door
::my little monk (my youngest – and yes that’s what I call him) asking to lay with me as I pray
::lexicon (what I call my oldest son) leaving me little notes in the evening when I’m in the shower, reminding me to pray with him before bedtime.
::a text from my dear friend S, letting me know she’s got time to chat if I need her, after a hard day.

Praying
I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

I am praying for this little boy who is sick at my parish. I don’t know his name or what he is afflicted with only that in confession, I was asked to pray for him.

I am praying for the upcoming marriage of http://thisnorthernbelle.com/ and for Lumena’s House husbands’ job – God’s will be done!

For Toni, Denise’s sister. She is undergoing chemo for cancer. Recently found in spinal fluid surrounding the brain. I am especially offering up any pain, upset, happiness – all of my day to Our Lady for Toni’s health, healing and spirit.

Why? Because that’s what we do. Pray for eachother.

Thinking
I am thinking that i need to go to Tuesday evening mass more often. Mass was celebrated in the chapel. There was no music – and I’m a cantor so it was hard to speak the responses when I’m so used to singing them. If anyone was really looking they would see that I stumbled a bit. The mass was reverent and potent (only 30 minutes). But SO incredibly peaceful. And now that I am across the street from my parish, guess where I’ll be Tuesdays at 7PM??

Reading
I thought I read last week. I found a site that listed out what Aspirants would do and pulled this list. Not that i am an Aspirant, yet. Although I aspire to be. (That’s funny). Either I downloaded or copy/pasted into a document to read.

Hearing, Cooking, Homing, Making and doing
The sounds of a move, cooking things that can be moved, moving into a home, making a home and doing the unpacking. Actually, for dinner tonight, I am making arroz con gandules with chuletas. Translation: yellow rice with green pigeon peas and porkchops. I’ll probably throw a salad together with that too. Shall I set a place for you?

Learning
Aside from learning this song for an upcoming wedding I am singing at. I am also learning this piece for a fundraiser I am doing. Yes, it’s opera. When I sing, I don’t like to get money for it. What? say that again? Nope. I don’t like to take money for it. If they insist, I’ll take it and donate it to my church. Every. Time.

Around the Web
Here’s that website I mentioned in the “reading” portion of this post, where I culled (you know you like that word) my reading. Have a look around on the OCDS Community of the Holy Spirit

This test is SUPER fun. After you’ve taken it, go here to read what your results mean. Think of it as a basic personality test to see how to others can get a long with you, how you are as a parent, or were as a child and what your struggles are. I’m a tie between a 2 and a 9. What does that mean, Cristina? I won’t list the entire explanation, but just the parts that I thought stood out – and I could bear sharing here:

2 – Helper ~ How I am as a parent
::are good listeners, love their children unconditionally, and are warm and encouraging (or suffer guilt if they aren’t)
::are often playful with their children
::wonder: “Am I doing it right?” “Am I giving enough?” “Have I caused irreparable damage?”
::can become fiercely protective

But I am also a…

9-Peacemaker ~ What I like about being a “9”
::being nonjudgmental and accepting
::caring for and being concerned about others
::being able to relax and have a good time
::knowing that most people enjoy my company; I’m easy to be around
::my ability to see many different sides of an issue and to be a good mediator and facilitator
::my heightened awareness of sensations, aesthetics, and the here and now
::being able to go with the flow and feel one with the universe
::Laugh with me and share in my enjoyment of life. (my response to that one !!!)

Oh yes, I also found out about the Carmelite Proper of Offices. Do what? Yes! When it’s an Ordinary day in my LOTH / Christian prayer book, I can read about a Carmelite Saint or Blessed! What’s up? Can be ordered online here – but don’t order them all up, I have to save up a little before I can purchase from the Carmelite Shoppe. Now, I found out about that site, at Meditations of Mount Carmel in St. Louis. How did I get there? Someone on the Carmelite Conversations (I mentioned last week) Facebook page, asked where they could get one. I took it as – Cristina, FIND IT! But no one asked really. But I love a good book/resource hunt.

When I went back to work, I was worried that I would miss making silly little crafts with my boys. Enter stage left, Kiwi Crate. I signed up for this monthly all inclusive, themed craft set. It comes directly to their attention and they love it! Any leftovers, can stay in the box OR, I can consolidate them into a bin to be used during the school year. I say can because I haven’t gotten that organized yet. I won’t get started on my crazy Thanksgiving turkey made last minute the night before it was due using the back of a calendar, a used Thanksgiving themed napkin, yellow glitter and the innards of a tabletop, decorative turkey! Bottom line, I could spend 20 dollars, easy on stuff that won’t make the memories I’ve had with this convenient little subscription! Past themes with craft have been:

  • family game night – a board game with pieces and stickers
  • earth day – rescyclable bag with leaf stamps
  • birds of a feather – nest with eggs (yes, that’s a leftover feather being used as a bookmark in that picture)
  • spies – periscope

Captured

Prayer reminder notes from my little lexicon.
Prayer reminder notes from my little lexicon.

And if you’re wondering what that book is in the picture, its “Blessings Every Day 365 Simple Devotions for the Very Young” by Carla Barnhill (Author), Elena Kucharik (Illustrator). I have them repeat the scripture and the message at the bottom in blue, but I’ll read the message. Then we say the Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory Be, there’s some silence for personal intentions – sometimes we share that. Then we end with the Guardian Angel Prayer for all of us and our family (almost like a canopy of protection for the night)

Hey, there’s homework! Take that personality quiz, read up on your results, and post a few of them in the CommBox to let us know what YOU are (yes, you’re also blessed). And thank you Cara for your post, where I got this quizzy stuff from! FOLLOW HER! She’s got quite the following in her own right – but who doesn’t need more sugar? She’s girly, fun and talented. She suggested a lipstick that I can’t live without – and it was $7. That’s wassup.

Whew. That’s a lot going on. Enjoy the links. Till next Monday, many blessings and know that I’m thinking of all of you as I unpack.

8 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 4

  1. The mass was reverent and potent

    Oh my goodness that made me laugh! Thanks for that.

    I’m saving all your Carmelite links. I briefly checked into becoming a Third Order Carmelite in a community near me. But when I told the woman on the phone that I didn’t know if I could make the mandatory meeting b/c I have a nursing baby…and she suggested that I pump…I realized it’s not my season, you know. My season is here at home.

    Like

    1. I totally get that. I breastfed for 18 months! and worked/pumped for a good portion of that.

      Actually when I called the person about the OCDS, they seemed defensive, asked me how I got their number and seemed very guarded. Almost like they didn’t want to give me any information in case I was an alien from another planet. I don’t know. I guess people can’t be excited because I’m brimming with bubbly, ginger-ale craziness. I thought well maybe I should still check it out and maybe another Third Order that I was drawn to. Dun dun duuuuuuuun! Enjoy the links…

      Like

  2. Hi Cristina. Thank you for visiting my blog and for following 🙂 I was so interested when I popped over here and began reading your post about your interest in becoming an OCDS. I’ve been on that journey for 18 years…..12 definitively professed. I am so happy for you that you feel this tug on your heart. So sorry you got treated like an “alien!” Wow! I hope that won’t discourage you 🙂

    Please let me know if I can be of any help…answer any questions, etc. I’m already indebted to you for locating where the Carmelite Proper can be purchased! I’ve been wanting to get one for so long….just have a photo-copied one which is falling apart. I will definitely follow up on this…and try very hard not to take the “last” one! God bless you!

    Like

    1. It doesn’t discourage me. We all have off days. That doesn’t mean anything! I will go and see what happens.

      Thank you for taking time during your “away from your computer time” to stop by here! I am so very glad I found your blog! Beautiful!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

