Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 3

CWA Time people!!! Link up time over at Suscipio! Can I just say that I’ve been thinking of writing this post all weekend!?

Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2Gratitude
::the parable of the Prodigal Son
::Rainbows
::Night Prayers with my kids
::Corn muffins for breakfast (indulgent)
::an old friendship
::Sacrament of Reconciliation and how it touches my son so
::Constant reflection
::found Communion cards
::my husband who worked so hard this weekend to get the house up and running
::pre-made coffee for me this morning – by you guessed it, my husband (before he left at 6AM for work)

Praying
I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

I am praying for this little boy who is sick at my parish. I don’t know his name or what he is afflicted with only that in confession, I was asked to pray for him.

Thinking
I think the more I pray, and the closer I try to get to God, you-know-who is right there, trying to get me angry at every little thing to keep me from the peace of God. SO – St. Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle. Be our defense against the wickedness and snares of the devil. May God rebuke him, we humbly pray. O Prince of the heavenly host, by the power of God, thrust into hell Satan and the other evil spirits who prowl about the world for the ruin of souls. Amen – Pope Leo XIII

I am thinking that work is going to get busier and I need to get ready.

I am also thinking – why do I love this weekly post at Suscipio? CWA Rocks!

Reading
Whew! Have I read this week.

Hearing
PODCAST central up in hea! Carmelite Conversations is what’s up. I downloaded a couple after happening upon it looking for stuff. What’s the first one I downloaded (has no description, I just downloaded the last two last week)? All about essential books that Secular Discalced Carmelites should read. WHAT?! Yup.

Cooking

Capture

Tonight – nothing special folks. Hamburger Helper because I am a working mother and I don’t have much time today with moving and shaking! Last night though, I made my herbed chicken and potatoes in the oven. Delish! Fresh rosemary, basil, garlic, oregano, parsley, paprika, cumin. Cumin? Yeah. Cumin. It’s good. And never to be left out because I am Puerto Rican, Adobo! It’s so good, you can put it on anything. Even cereal. Well maybe not cereal. 

Homing
Still packing. BUT! They put in a new backsplash and I got to walk around the place. I still can’t remember all of the ins and outs of it because I’m tired and the whole place is all white walled so it all looks the same. BUT, I am on the lookout for new pretty little things to make it home-y.

Making and doing
Still making rosaries, peeps. I got some pretty purple beads from my rosary lady, Ms. M. I also worked on this blog, whaddya think? You like?

Learning
Learning that being overlooked is hard. But as my husband just emailed to me, “Either way, it’s not a reflection on you”.

Around the Web
Decided that my “Around the Web” would be a Catholic site, a fun site, and maybe not Catholic related – although what isn’t really?!? So here they are:

For my new house…I have a big wall and I used to have this painting, but it got lost. Long story. I miss it. This would be perfect! Flaming June Print needs to be 4 feet by 4 feet. If anyone can find a better one…let me know.

What’s up TV? Here’s a study we should all read from Parents Television Council Sexploitation Study where Networks find humor in the exploitation of children during the Family Hour. Study results revealed that out of 238 scripted episodes which aired during the study period, 150 episodes (63%) contained sexual content in scenes that were associated with females and 33% of the episodes contained sexual content that rose to the level of sexual exploitation. – See more here

I found this funny gal on Pinterest and asked her if she blogged so I could follow, because, why not? Who doesn’t need to laugh!!! Let’s all follow her!

Captured
My friend of 19 years came to visit. We have this bubbly, funny, deep-but-not-so-much thang going on.

Picture1

Here’s my reference to rainbows. My son said, Mommy, a rainbow is a reminder of God’s promise. he’s reminding you that he will keep you close. This rainbow showed up right after we walked through the new home – which is right across the street from our parish.

Picture1

14 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 3

  1. Christina…

    Your CWA is just plain awesome! And you reminded me that I forgot the *prayer* part of my CWA today. I join with you in praying for our children and I pray to St. Michael everyday for them AND to wrapped in the mantle of our Most Blessed Mother!

    Good readings girl!! I will pray as you continue your journey (and hope you were able to contact someone). I never heard of Carmelite Conversations before but I hope to tune in tonight on the PC…thanks for posting it.

    Have blessed days this week.

    Like

    1. I haven’t heard back from anyone as yet! Praying I do in good time. So glad you loved the post – I really enjoy doing them and look forward to it all weekend! Carmelite Conversations is also on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/pages/Carmelite-Conversations/202130483159163.

      There’s also Meditations from Carmel. Ever hear of that podcast? I haven’t listened to any yet, but check it out here: http://www.meditationsfromcarmel.com/content/podcast

      Like

      1. They seem to be slow in answering…I am sure it’s due to the summer time.

        Yes…I have listened to some Meditations from Carmel. I don’t have an ipod *gasp* and I try to limit my computer time but I think my oldest is giving me her old ipod than I can treat myself to some good spiritual talk…and some Gregorian Chant : )

        Like

      2. I get it! I only just got on Facebook – after much poking and prodding from my husband! I will definitely keep you posted on things. The way I look at it, I will hear when He wants me to!

        Like

  2. Love your site and CWA post! I will definitely be back….and will try to listen to Carmelite Conversations…Thanks and many blessings and rainbows in your new home…

    Like

  3. Hiya!! So nice to meet you, and yes, CWA does ROCK! I take it you’re in the middle of moving – many prayers for patience and grace for you and yours. 🙂 Oh, and that Flaming June print? You can get it at about 4′ square, for a pretty $200, without frame. It would be amazing at that size…

    Have an incredible week!

    Like

  4. Yup, I see the rainbow, and your son is one insightful guy.

    My, you are one awesome reader! I will be going through your list; thanks!

    And thanks, too, for reminding me about the Saint Michael Prayer; we can’t say it too often, I guess.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

