Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 2

CWA Time people!!! Link up time over at Suscipio! Can I just say that I’ve been thinking of writing this post all weekend!?

Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2Gratitude
::the upcoming visit of my step-son (to stay)
::my husband leading the mealtime prayer (with no prompt from anyone!)
::my husband asking “where’s my cross?” (a gift at our wedding from the priest)
::butter melting on my morning bagel
::conversations with my husband
::laughing
::straight up silliness with my boys
::iced green tea
::patented drive by’s at the new place
::old pictures, notes, memories and cards from my “junk” drawers. Why do we call them that? They’re clearly not. I digress…
::my creeper friend (you know who you are, S!)

Praying
I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

I am also praying for a man who was badly burned in a freak accident and is in a medically induced coma. Won’t you pray for him too? His name is John Wolgemuth. I am praying that he is healed and that his family feels God’s love and strength during what must be a blindingly painful time.

I am also praying for another friend’s son over in Afghanistan. His name is Jon (Robert). Won’t you pray for him too?

I am particularly focused on those souls in Purgatory this week too. Don’t know where that’s coming from. I know we all should, but the need for me to is especially intense lately.

Thinking
I am thinking that I need more prayer time. I need to schedule it maybe but don’t want what comes with that – or what I think comes with that. “Ok Cristina, time to pray so let’s get on with it”. I don’t like that. Sometimes though I am SO very distracted that I can’t get to the places I should go or rather, would like to go. Is it even right for me to want anything? Shouldn’t it be about where He wants me to go? I am always in reflection about actions, feelings, family, eternity and what heaven will be like even. I am also nervous about praying too much in front of my husband. He’s never said that I couldn’t, that I shouldn’t or that he’s uncomfortable with my doing so. In fact, quite the opposite. He respects it. But then, I also don’t like to exercise in front of him either. So it’s ALL me. I’m a little nutty quirky personal like that.

Reading
I’m not sleeping well. I’m up till the wee hours of the morning. Tea doesn’t help, reading doesn’t help (as you’ll see), TV doesn’t help, melatonin doesn’t help, and I say more Hail Mary’s than 10 rosaries, and that doesn’t help. Maybe it’s on account of the changes and the move that I am just anxious:

Hearing
The hum of the air conditioner and the murmur of voices in another room.

Cooking
I have absolutely no idea. My husband is working from home and so he usually takes care of dinner. Yeah, I’m blessed like that. Last night he made my favorite…Spanish Spaghetti. Such a comfort food.

Homing
I’m moving in a couple of weeks so I am packing up but having to clean up at the same time. Double duty. And with my step-son coming I am making sure the room he’ll be in isn’t SO chaotic that he doesn’t feel welcome. So, sheets washed and ready. Comforter folded. Yes, comforter. No matter what time of year it is we use a comforter. Why? Because who doesn’t want to be comforted to sleep?

Making and doing
Jenny said I could change this to whatever I wanted so I’ll see how this goes. I made 40 rosaries. I even brought my little projects with me to the firework show. My friend S asked me to as she was bringing her knitting. We sit there and wait for the show about 3 hours – so what else is there to do while the kids eat pops and we chat? A subtle but great way to share my faith with strangers. No one asked me about them, but they were looking and that’s enough for me. I also taught myself (because my friend S mentioned it – isn’t she awesome?) how to make sacrifice beads from this site. My first try wasn’t so bad. A little tight and twisted, but maybe that’s just a reflection of how I feel lately. Hmmmm, contemplation much?

Learning
Music for a mass that I will cantor at this Saturday. I switched times this week with another cantor and it couldn’t be better timing. With my step-son coming on Thursday, this will be the first time he attends a mass with us and he’ll see me sharing in a way he hasn’t before. Did I mention that I stopped singing for years? So, he’s never heard me.

Around the Web
Oh the places I’ve been! Including the other links throughout this post that I’ve shared I’ll add these two. I am really delving into some Carmelite spirituality. I feel it really does me good. I love it, feel like I understand it and always want to learn more. So, as I was up – not sleeping while listening to the snoring soft breathing of the rest of the house, I received a newsletter with this caption: How to Join a Third Order Um, hello! Hi, what’s up God? Thanks for being so direct with me at 2AM. Could it be that all was so quiet in my head that I could hear Him speak?

I’ve been thinking and praying about this for a while. A stretch. A tad. I should save it for a post. In any case, I think I will start to add some of these suggestions to see if I can manage it. I’m still in the “thinking, praying, discerning, nah not me, maybe me?” phase. I need more time. I’m not ready to share this just yet with anyone and I don’t know why I have here. Well, maybe if anyone else was in this stage or a more advanced stage that they would share? Add their two cents?

As always, I am pinning my tail off. Ha! Pinning my tail. That’s pretty funny.

Captured

My boys try to make me laugh all the time. And it’s super easy for me to. They’re hilarious. My youngest is holding on to my leg and my eldest had to jump in. They want snacks. Can I refuse? Not with those faces.

Straight up silliness
Straight up silliness
5 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 2

  1. Do you make your own iced green tea? I really like Panera’s; but: it’s $4 for a large, they don’t have a drive through, I’m only by there maybe once a week. I can’t find a copy cat recipe online.

    There are a couple of ladies over at Suscipio who are Third Order Carmelites, you could visit with them about the call to that vocation.

    Like

    1. It’s the Panera one I was talking about. I only get there once in a blue moon so it’s always a treat. I’ve tried making my own. Not the same. Must be the plastic cup it comes in – with a straw. Anything is great with a straw – even juice boxes! Thanks for the suggestion! I will go searching for new peeps!

      Like

  2. Pinning Your Tail Off!! ha ha ha All this talk about Panera Green Tea – I suppose I need to go try it some time.

    I hopped over here from Suscipio; I also work outside the home – with two in college and two in high school, my kids are (al)mostly grown now. Nice to meet you!

    Like

    1. I was just over by your place reading and I think I spilled some green tea on your tamales and bean nachos ! You must try some. A working MOM! You’re still going with them in college! There’s hope for me yet! Nice to meet you!!!

      Like

  3. Next time you go…get a green tea. It. Will. Change. Your. Life. For reals.
    Thanks for the prayers. 🙂
    All I have is a sense of humor. Although in a deep conversation with my husband we decided he could do stand up, while I’d be better at skits and improv. Yeah. That’s what we talk about.
    And you’re welcome. I’ll look stupid all day – so long as I have the internet and can look it up!
    Now tell, me? Did you think Third Order meant another Green Tea? Bwahaha! I just made that up.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

