Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 1

Here’s something GREAT I found to participate in over at Suscipio that I would like to add to the rotation here every Monday. I only found it yesterday, so I am a little late, early? I’ll let you decide. Please link up over here every Monday and meet/learn/share with others! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2Gratitude
::a wonderful visit from my step-daughter
::a peaceful night’s sleep
::my son’s interest in praying the rosary with me nightly
::wearing capri’s to work (because it’s casual today)
::morning theology with my friend, K
::bobby pins as a last minute resort to hold my shirt in place (keeping it modest)
::the cup of coffee my husband made me this morning, and re-heated because I still wasn’t ready
::my youngest son finding security in my side of the bed in the early morning hours
::chocolate covered pretzels at 10:23am

Praying
I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent.

Thinking
I am thinking that maybe I need more time to process change and my age is the reason. I was able to go with the flow all the time when I was younger completely unscathed. Now when change happens; I notice my body and mind respond in a way that forces me to slow down (naps – which are generally not in my vernacular) or heed warnings (night terrors. Complete with crying and paralyzing fear).

Reading
What am I not reading? I have an addiction. I’ll admit. To books!!! But here are the must reads daily in my rotation:

Hearing
The typing of keys and music in my head. Lately, I’ve been listening to The Sundays Static and Silence. Yeah showing my age a bit.

Cooking
Tonight we’re probably having Spanish style Corned beef with white rice and “love fries”. It’s just French fries, but my boys say they are so delicious that the secret ingredient must be love. Hence, “love fries”.

Homing
Moving. Boxes, packing tape, bubble wrap = chaos.

Gardening
I have a black thumb try as I might to have a greener one. My boys though have been growing, from seed, marigolds and a sunflower in these little plastic cups on the window sill. They are finally blooming (the marigold) and I will attempt to transplant them when we move. Wish me luck.

Learning
Music for a wedding that I will be singing at in August. Pre-mass, they would like me to sing the Wedding song by Peter, Paul and Mary – not sure what else the couple would like me to sing yet.

Making
Rosaries with a group at work. I make them and give them to the coordinator Ms. M, and she distributes to those in need. I try to make 8 a day. Lately it’s been tough with the move swirling about.

Around the Web
We have been looking for a recliner and beds for the boys. We are transitioning them from a bunk bed to two twins and there’s nothing that we like really online, so I think we will have to hoof it and actually walk into a furniture store. Otherwise, I’m pinning ALL the time. Or at least when I have a second or two.

Captured

boxes
The chaos I mentioned in the Homing section – moving supplies and craziness
5 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 1

  1. Ha! I love all those boxes! Take your time and relax for once! We can’t keep up with you! I love the gratitude for the small stuff! I keep a gratitude journal in my kitchen and write endless things whenever I need a pick me up! Gratitude can change everything!

    Like

  2. Hola Emily! Thank you. Maybe send me a picture of the rosary and I can see if I can figure out a fix, or just send him one – TOTALLY gratis. Because that’s how I do. 🙂 Blessings back at’cha. Cristina

    Like

  3. Hi Cristina. I’m so glad you’ve joined us over at Suscipio! If gardening isn’t something you all do, by all means change that prompt into something that fits you’re family. Make this daybook your own.

    UGH! moving. One of our hardest moves was right across the driveway believe it or not. Since we didn’t move everything at once, I would go to make dinner and the salt would be at the house next door and the spatula but I would have the skillet and pepper over here, lol!

    I have made the Total Consecration to Jesus through Mary in 2002. My three older daughters have made it as well. You might double check your calendar. The Feast of Our Lady of Mount Carmel is on the 16th of July I thought. But we follow the traditional calendar so maybe it’s different?

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for “finding” me! Even though you’ve been here a while! I should learn to garden. Maybe there are some women over in your neck of the woods that could help! Pun intended. 🙂 I’m using the “33 Days…” book and the Marian Feast of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel says July 16th for consecration (as I started on June 13th per the cheat sheet included in the book). I will ask my priest tomorrow at mass just to be safe. Thanks for letting me know! Would not want to mess that up.

      My house is echoing because there’s nothing on the walls. Amazing at what a few photos and pictures can do to make a house feel homey.

      Feel free to stop by at any time. I’m always up! Blessings to you, dear sister.

      UPDATE: I messed up. The date on the CWA post is incorrect! I wrote it when I didn’t have the book beside me. (Editing – not always a strong suit)

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

