Who is RCIA for?

rcia_2

I gave a talk in August of last year that I thought I would share with you. I was asked by the Deacon of my parish to speak to the parish about my experience around RCIA (Rite of Catholic Initiation of Adults or the path to become Catholic, learn more about the faith, ask questions, you get the gist). I thought I would share that with you.

I am a convert to the Catholic faith and very blessed to say so.  I am here on behalf of our Parish RCIA team.  RCIA is the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults.  It is a process of inquiry in the faith —– a no strings approach. We are inviting you to “Come Taste and See the Goodness of the Lord.”  It is the goodness of the Lord I have experienced on my faith journey. I would like to briefly share with you my journey into the Catholic Faith.

I was baptized Catholic as an infant but never received any other sacraments. When I was growing up, mass to me was an occasional occurrence at a Brooklyn cathedral with my grandmother. As an adult, and after the RCIA program, mass is so much more to me and the family we have begun to raise in the faith.  We as a family look forward to the sacred time we spend together here with all of you.  Our children attend St. Joseph the Worker School and were baptized in February.  I have met wonderful people in the RCIA program as we created a new family in Christ throughout the year. I sing in the choir and cantor now. In fact, I came into the faith right over there, (pointing to the choir loft) giving as I received the Eucharist for the first time in my life.  I am confident that anyone looking to join the faith or answer any questions they may have about the faith will experience abundant blessings for themselves and their families as I have.

Description: You may be asking yourself who is RCIA for?  RCIA is for…

  • Anyone not baptized.

  • Anyone who was baptized but not Catholic.

  • Anyone who was baptized Catholic but did not receive all of the Sacraments.

  • Interested Catholic who have recently returned to the faith AND those who would like to learn more about what it means to be Catholic.

 My friends in Christ, if you fit in any of these descriptions I ENCOURAGE you to attend our information night tomorrow at 7PM in the Early Childhood conference room at the school.  RCIA meets every Monday at 7 PM beginning September 10.  Finally,  come over to the Parish Center after Mass today to enjoy coffee and doughnuts.  Meet our RCIA team and see about other Adult Faith Formation our parish will be offering during the upcoming “year of faith”.

 You know, it’s easy to slip into the busy-ness of the world. It’s in that busy-ness that our Lord’s call can be pushed aside, made to wait or otherwise ignored. If I, a wife and mother of two young boys, completing a master’s degree, can find stillness enough to hear His call, you can too. Perhaps He’s calling you or asking that you tap someone else on the shoulder. Regardless, our Lord invites all of us.  Will you allow enough stillness to hear Him? I promise it will change your life. Thank you.

* * *

That was it. That’s what I said. If you have questions that need answers, are Catholic, aren’t or want to be, speak to your local priest or deacon. They will get you started. I didn’t even go to the class. I met one on one with a deacon weekly. We broke open scripture and the catechism. We talked of saints, God, the Trinity and just life. Who knows where it will lead you?

One thought on “Who is RCIA for?

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

